Born in Las Vegas Nevada April 19, 1958, Joe’s family moved to Santa Barbara, California when he was seven. As a young kid, Joe picked up many instruments, but gravitated towards guitar when he heard artists like The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, and Bob Dylan. He found a great guitar mentor in jazz legend Bill Thrasher, who lent him some old guitars to learn on. As a teenager, he formed a few bands and learned to write songs.

At 20 years old in 1978,  Joe produced Portraits of a Dream on Quest Records in Canada and Orpheus on Yugotone Records in Europe for international concert guitarist Paul Cypress.  Both albums were released in over 10 countries.

In 1979,  Joe co-produced a spoken word/chant album with Sioux Indian leader Chief Archie Fire Lame Deer entitled

Medicine Man, on  Wambli  Records in Santa Barbara.

In the early 80’s, Joe formed the bands “Reckless Desire”, and “Rupert Pupkin” and released EPs that received good reviews and airplay. Both bands played many shows on the West Coast and opened shows for well-known acts. During that time, he also released several singles that received local radio airplay, good reviews and media attention.  The Price Of Time was released in 1988 on Wildstar Records in Los Angeles. The album included 10 original songs and received airplay in Santa Barbara and Los Angeles.

Throughout the 90’s, Joe did studio work and produced various local artists. He played many shows and showcasaes in Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. In 1995, he recorded the album Just Like Downtown, which features 11 original songs. The album features Scott Shiflett on bass and guitar (Face to Face) and is available online and here at the official website.

In 2001, Joe enlisted Jim Crichton (bassist for Saga) to produce Now That The Money’s Gone. They put together the right combination of musicians with Denny Seiwell on Drums (Paul McCartney & Wings), Davey Faragher on Bass (Elvis Costello & The Imposters), Arno Lucas on percussion (Al Jarreau), Philip Bardowell on back up vocals (The Beach Boys) along with George Quirin on guitar, and Sal Godinez on keyboards. There are special appearances from Michael Sadler (Saga), and Scott Shiflett (Face to Face). They recorded a great sounding collection of some cool rocking songs.

Bare Bones is an acoustic project that was recorded live in the studio in Santa Barbara in 2004 with Joe on his Martin HD-28 and a harmonica.

Only An Ocean was recorded in Maui, Hawaii in 2009 and features local musicians Richard Rose on keyboards/programming, Sal Godinez on keyboards, Lenny Castellanos on bass, Kelly Covington on back up vocals. The album features the song
 "The Spirit Of Aloha".

In December 2012, Joe started recording bed tracks for A Lotta Girls Ago at Melody Line Studios in Pukalani, Maui. Getting tracks and taking them to his own Big Dumb Mutt Studios and completing the recording. George Quirin also contribted tracks from his studio in Santa Barbara. Mixed by Carl Lange and mastered by Joe Gastwirt. Kalynn Campbell did the epic artwork for the cover and booklet. The album was released Febuary 2014. Joe's new album Plate Lunch (2018) is a Best Of featuring songs from his previous releases.

Welcome to


The new album Plate Lunch is a Best Of compilation available on Soundcloud